🔧 The AI I use every day

· MXB


The AI I use every day #

The simplest question is always the best

how

It's been nearly two years since I started fiddling with LLMs. In many ways, they're the perfect technology to tinker with: zero up-front cost, straight-forward documentation, with plaintext input and output.

As with most overhyped start-ups, my tinkering has largely been in the form of writing fancy wrappers around an API. I've tested out a few - some silly, some deadly serious, and some making use of my day-job pedagogy to channel the Magic Talking Computers into something useful.

One question, one answer #

But the best application I've built - the one I use every day, a dozen times a day (and the reason OpenAI and Anthropic have my credit card details) - is easily the simplest.

Sometimes, you just want the computer to do The Thing; to turn your fleshy human thoughts into clean coded commands. And that's exactly what I built cai to do:

CAI in action in the terminal

One question, one actionable answer.

Silence is a virtue #

No conversation, no commentary, no buttons or widgets. Just a single call and response with an LLM, turning the unknown into the known.

For the quick things I've not learnt, or the stupid things I've forgotten, it's ideal.

And it works about 90% of the time! It's cut my StackOverflow and Arch Wiki lurking time in half. What was once a click through three forums is now a single line in the terminal.

After a couple of weeks of use, I did add a -verbose flag; having a few lines of explanatory commentary can be valuable when working through thornier problems. There's also a -chat option for follow-up questions, but I've rarely had the need to use it (much to my past-self's disappointment, and the unused overkill-SQLiteDB he set up for that purpose).

How it works #

As with all good things, it started life as a bash, curl-ing to the OpenAI endpoint. It then grew into a Python script, switching to Anthropic's Claude to include some message history (Haiku is an excellent little model).

The latest iteration is pure Golang, partly to avoid the faff of Python venv and partly as an exercise in learning more about Go. The magic is mostly in the prompt, which I'll paste below. The fancy loading animation is gum, by the excellent Charm collective (also responsible for VHS, used to produce the terminal gifs above).

Now, this little Go binary sits in my $PATH, aliased to @, ready to go with a single keypress.

If this is the future of computing, give me excess of it.


 1var systemPrompt string = `You are a coding and computing 
 2assistant called CAI. 
 3
 4Respond only with the requested code or command or solution, 
 5ideally in a single line, defaulting to BASH script unless 
 6otherwise stated. 
 7
 8If a more detailed explanation is needed, the user will ask 
 9for it. 
10
11Always be concise. All output will be rendered on a terminal,
12so do not use markdown formatting. 
13
14You must respond only with the requested code or command or 
15solution,
16ideally in a single line, defaulting to BASH script unless 
17otherwise stated. 
18
19If I need a more detailed explanation, I will ask for it. 
20
21If you are providing a single line of code, do not use any 
22code markers or backticks to indicate this. 
23
24Do not add commentary or explanation. 
25
26If you need to add comments, use # to comment the lines out.`

MB 🐈‍⬛ 2024